Skip to content
05/12/2012 / Tamara

The Next Big Thing

 I was tagged by Laura Lee Bahr, author of the great novel ‘HAUNT’ (a tripping-balls Los Angeles noir and winner of Wonderland Book Award 2012) for The Next Big Thing. This is a meme of 10 standard questions for writers about upcoming or current books.

1. What is the title of your book?

Her Fingers

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

I wrote a first version five years ago. I had the ‘brilliant’ idea of going on holidays with my parents. I took the computer and there was no Wi-Fi. I had read The Mists of Avalon. I had remembered a Blade Runner PC videogame and read that Mary Shelley’s mother tried to drown herself in a river. And then I just wrote it.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Speculative/ Weird Fantasy/Bizarro Fiction

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Emma Stone might do a good Misadora. Ryan Gosling would be a perfect Volatile, but then I want to be invited to the shooting

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A young witch gets her fingers violently cut off, and once replaced with metal replicas, she’ll need to find out what’s going on.

6. Is your book self-published or represented by an agency?

It’s published by Eraserhead Press, under their New Bizarro Author series imprint. I’m my own agent by now.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

Three weeks.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

China Miéville’s Bas Lag books, -here there’s a tiny-interdimensional city with weird stuff going on- Marion Zimmer Bradley’s ‘Darkover’ series, Mary Shelley’s ‘Frankenstein’, ‘The book of the new sun’ by Gene Wolfe.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

07233The Second Sex by Simone de Beauvoir, new age things, optical phenomenons, The Misfits, Dostoievski, my ex-boss, Daryl Hannah in Blade Runner, fish tanks, The Lady of Shalott by John William Waterhouse, Hamlet.

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

There’s free drugs, women who become trees, a mystery hidden by the government, a brand new dimension and lots of weirdness. And you can read it at one sitting.

This meme should continue alive. I didn’t have a lot of time to look for 5 writers to pass this on, but if you want to publish it next Wednesday 12th December on your site, just go ahead! If you want, I can update this entry and link you, just comment below or send me an email.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. lauraleebahr / Dec 6 2012 07:08

    AWESOME!!!! I can’t wait to read your book!

Leave a Reply

